Chocolate Pavlova with Nutella Whipped Cream

I’m still catching up on posting my creations, so when I came across this recipe that I made for the Olympics I realized how far behind I am! My friend had an Olympic themed party so she wanted Russian themed desserts. What better than a classic Pavlova with an American twist, well actually Italian twist since Nutella was originally created in Italy:  Click here for the history!

DSC_0065_webtitleNow this is the first pavlova I’ve ever made and looks-wise, it didn’t really turn out how I wanted. It really grows in the oven! So mine ended up being at least 12 inches instead of 9, so it wasn’t as tall as they usually are, but it still tasted delicious. The second time I made this I didn’t spread it out as much so it was taller and I liked how it looked much better. Here is the recipe.

Chocolate Pavlova with Nutella Whipped Cream

For the Chocolate Pavlova:
Adjusted from:  FoodNetwork.com
Yield:  about 9 or 10 inch Pavlova

Ingredients:

  • 6 large egg whites
  • 1.5 cups superfine sugar
  • 3 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder, sifted
  • 1 teaspoon balsamic or red wine vinegar
  • 2 ounces dark chocolate, finely chopped
  • ¼ teaspoon cream of tarter
  • 1 teaspoon cornstarch

Directions:

  1. Prepare the pan: Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F and line a baking sheet with parchment. Draw a 9-inch-diameter circle on the paper with a pencil, tracing a round cake tin that size.
  2. Flip the paper over so your meringue doesn’t touch the pencil marks – you’ll still be able to see the circle.
  3. Make the meringue: Beat the egg whites and cream of tartar with a mixer until satiny peaks form, and then beat in the sugar a spoonful at a time until the meringue is stiff and shiny.
  4. Add the chocolate: Sprinkle the cocoa, and corn starch, and vinegar and then the chopped chocolate over the egg whites. Gently fold everything with a rubber spatula until the cocoa is thoroughly mixed in.
  5. Shape the meringue: Secure the parchment to the baking sheet with a dab of meringue under each corner. Mound the meringue onto the parchment within the circle, smoothing the sides and the top with a spatula.
  6. Bake the meringue: Place in the oven, then immediately turn the temperature down to 300 degrees F and cook for one to one and a quarter hours. When it’s ready, it should look crisp and dry on top, but when you prod the center you should feel the promise of squidginess beneath your fingers.
  7. Let it cool: Turn off the oven and open the door slightly; let the chocolate meringue disk cool completely in the oven. When you’re ready to serve, invert onto a big flatbottomed plate and peel off the parchment.

For the Nutella Whipped Cream
Yield:  About 3 cups

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups heavy whipping cream
  • ½ cup Nutella spread

Directions:

  1. In large bowl with hand mixer or in bowl of stand mixer whip heavy whipping cream on medium high speed until stiff peaks form. Beat on high for 1 more minute until peaks are completely stiff.
  2. Gently fold in nutella using a spatula – do not deflate the whipped cream! Refrigerate until ready to serve.

Garnish
Candy toppings of your choice!  I used Whoppers and another time I did shaved dark chocolate.

You want your egg whites to look like the photo below, and really stick to the beater when you lift it. I fake sifted the cocoa powder directly over the meringues. I used a mixture of bittersweet chocolate chips and a chopped candy bar. 

pavlova2_web_web

Then when well mixed it will look like this:

DSC_0015_webThen as I said above, I wouldn’t have spread it out as thin as I did here because it will expand in the oven and it gets really big! I’d rather have a taller pavlova with maximum soft chewiness inside.

pavlova3_web

Remember when you spread it it doesn’t have to look perfect, that’s the beauty of a pavlova. It’s rustic and still pretty.

DSC_0023_web

I made a mini one because I can never serve something at a party if I haven’t tried and tasted the recipe before. For cakes I usually pour a little bit of batter into a muffin pan so I can taste it to make sure it’s tasty before serving. 

cupcakeartist.wordpress.com

This is how it looks after baking.

DSC_0048_webThe best part is the inside.

DSC_0047_web

While the pavlova is baking, I made the Nutella whipped cream.

pavlova4_web

Very easy and delicious!! Be patient, keep folding in the Nutella and soon it will blend in with the whipped cream. Be careful not to deflate the whipped cream as you’re doing this.

pavlova5_web

It’s best to put the whipped cream on top when you are ready to serve the pavlova, so the pavlova doesn’t absorb all of the moisture and lose it’s crispy shell. Since I was bringing it to a party I just spread it on then and a couple hours later it was served and it was still crispy. DSC_0053_web

DSC_0060_web

Then top with your choice of topping! I did Whoppers since my friend likes them.

DSC_0062_web

DSC_0070_webDSC_0065_webDSC_0067_web

Hope you fall in love with pavlovas as much as I have!

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Pavlova with Nutella Whipped Cream

Leave a Reply

