Banana Cakelets with Cinnamon Rum Buttercream & Rum Simple Syrup

I am so behind in my posts! We finally closed on our house in December and have been demo-ing the kitchen/dining rooms and meeting contractors to get someone to rebuild the place. I hope I get my new kitchen soon, but until then, I still have a ton of posts to catch up on. I’ve got recipes still from my sister’s housewarming party and more recipes from holiday candy I made as a gift to my family.

Back in December I made these banana “cakelets” I call them. I used the recipe from my past post here, since I think this is one of the best banana cakes. Then I made a rum simple syrup, since it’s for a party and you drink at parties(!), and a cinnamon rum buttercream on top. I made them bite-sized so it could be easily eaten by hand – no forks or plates = less cleaning.

DSC_0641_webtitleI tried to pipe on a rose design. It was actually not hard, but the buttercream wasn’t stiff enough for me. I think it would’ve held shape better if the buttercream was a little stiffer. Oh well! They are to be eaten after all.

Refer to my previous post for the banana cake. The cinnamon rum buttercream I adapted from Love and Olive Oil.

Cinnamon Rum Buttercream

Yield:  For 9×13 inch cake
Adapted from LoveandOliveOil.com

Ingredients

  • 1 cup (2 sticks butter) room temperature
  • 4 cups confectioners’ sugar, sifted
  • 2 tablespoon dark rum
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • ¼ tsp kosher salt
  • 2-3 Tablespoons of milk, as needed

Directions

  1. In stand mixer or with hand mixer, cream butter 2-3 minutes. Add 1/2 cup confectioners’ sugar and mix until smooth.
  2. Add rum, cinnamon, vanilla extract, and salt and slowly mix. Continue adding sugar, 1/2 cup at a time, mixing well between additions. Continue to beat until light and fluffy. If frosting is too thick, add a bit of milk to thin it out. If too thin, add more sugar and continue to beat until it is the right consistency.

Rum Simple Syrup

Ingredients

  • 1 cup sugar
  • ½ cup rum
  • 1/2 cup water

Directions

  1. Heat water until boiling and pour in sugar. Stir until sugar has completely dissolved and turn off heat.
  2. Wait until mixture has cooled and mix in rum.

The simple syrup and buttercream are pretty standard – just mix them up ahead of time if you want and then top the cakelets when you’re ready. Make sure you cut the cake close to when you’re serving so it doesn’t dry out. I brought the baked cake to my sister’s and then used a round cookie cutter to cut it. It was barely tall enough!

Assembly

  1. Bake cake and let cool completely.
  2. Use a round cookie cutter and cut cylindrical cake pieces and place on tray.
  3. Use a toothpick and poke hole on the top of each cakelet to allow syrup to soak in.
  4. After simple syrup has completely cooled, brush on top of each cake let (about 1-2 tsp amount each cake)
  5. Pipe on buttercream!

Collage_BananaI did the simple syrup after cutting the cake because I didn’t want the cake to be too soft and hard to cut. Then you have cute little cylinders! You could stop here and just powder sugar them all or dare to continue…

DSC_0633_webI did a rose design. I think little dollops would look nice too.

DSC_0645_webDSC_0651DSC_0643_webDSC_0652_web

DSC_0646_webYummy!

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Banana Cakelets with Cinnamon Rum Buttercream & Rum Simple Syrup

Leave a Reply

