Gingerbread Meringue Kisses

I needed another dessert that could be made quickly and stored for a few days for my sister’s housewarming party. Meringues are a great dessert for a party because they are bite-sized and actually one of the “healthier” desserts. When I saw there was such thing as gingerbread meringues, I was so happy. I loveeeeeeee gingerbread. DSC_0653_CoverNow this recipe I found is not for the sensitive taste buds…that’s why it wasn’t my favorite. Though other people really enjoyed them, so it’s really dependent if you like spices. To me, it reminded me of red hots, it was super spiced and my tongue tingled a while after eating one. I added my alterations that I would try next time.

Overall they were good, maybe a little too spiced for me!

Gingerbread Meringues 

Adapted from The Dandy Life

Yield:  About 60-70 small meringues

Ingredients

  • 4 egg whites (room temperature)
  • 1/4 tsp Cream of Tartar
  • 1 cup superfine granulated sugar
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1 teaspoon ground cloves – I would only use ¼ teaspoon if making again
  • 1 teaspoon nutmeg – I would only use ½ teaspoon if making again
  • ¼ teaspoon kosher salt
  • 2 Tablespoons molasses

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 200 degrees F.
  2. Mix cinnamon, ground ginger, ground cloves, nutmeg, and salt together, set aside.
  3. Using a stand mixer or hand mixer fitted with a whisk attachment begin to mix the egg whites on medium speed. When they start to thicken add the cream of tartar. Continue to mix until soft peaks begin to form.
  4. Add the granulated sugar, a little at a time over the course of several minutes. When you are finished adding the sugar mixture, add the spice mixture in the same way and mix on medium high speed. Add the molasses while mixing.
  5. Continue to mix over medium speed until the meringue is glossy and hard peaks have started to form. This can take several minutes, so be patient!
  6. Pipe meringue mixtures onto a parchment lined baking sheet. For small meringues, pipe circles about 1 inch in diameter. Bake for an hour and a half. Allow to cool completely on pan.

I added the molasses since it’s not gingerbread without molasses. I also didn’t do the allspice.

If your eggs aren’t at room temperature, put them in a warm bath for a couple minutes – see below. It’ll make it so much easier for you to separate them from the yolk.

MeringueSummaryYou want to beat the clear egg whites into pic #2 when it thickens then add the cream of tartar. Then start adding your superfine sugar to stiffen them even more.

MeringueSummary2If you don’t have superfine sugar, just throw some sugar in the food processor with an extra tablespoon per 3/4 cup and pulse the processor until you have superfine sugar! Sometimes I just let the processor run for a minute.

After you’ve mixed the sugar check the meringue to make sure the sugar is dissolved. You can just take a little between your fingers and rub – no grainy feeling then you’re done, grainy feeling then you mix more! Add the spices after. Then add the molasses. You can see the streaks below.

DSC_0522

DSC_0525That’s about right, time to pipe! Pick whatever tip you want or even plop it with a spoon onto the prepared baking sheets. I chose to just use the round end of my large 18 inch piping bag.

DSC_0526

I did little hershey kiss shapes. DSC_0527I love how you can see all the spices.

DSC_0531Then put them in the oven.

DSC_0532DSC_0535I even piped a little house with the meringue to represent my sister’s new house!

DSC_0538That’s why I love meringue, you can pipe whatever shape you want and it’ll bake like that. This photo is a little darker below…

DSC_0537Bake bake bake! You can see the crispy textured shell.

DSC_0549Some recipes say to let these sit in the oven after baking to dry them out even further. I didn’t and it was fine, but I may try it next time for extra crisp.

DSC_0551No flash photo above. And here’s how the house turned out!
DSC_0557All displayed on my sister’s table!

DSC_0640DSC_0638Enjoy somewhat guilt-free!

4 thoughts on “Gingerbread Meringue Kisses

Leave a Reply

