Apple Pie Bars

Yep, I still had more apples left after the apple pie cake, the apple dumplings batch 1 and 2, and just from eating apples! I wanted to make something easy again, yet use a lot of apples. So I was very happy to come across this recipe for apple pie BARS! Tastes like the inside of an apple pie, but with the shortbread crust of a bar cookie, and a little extra vanilla almond glaze on top. Yum…

DSC_0252_webtitle

I found this recipe from Lovin’ From The Oven and changed a few things.

Apple Pie Bars

Adapted from Lovin’ From The Oven

Yield:  9×13” Pan of Bars

Ingredients

Shortbread Crust (consider increasing recipe by double or 1/3, see notes in directions below) 

  • 2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 egg, beaten

Apple Pie Filling

  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 3 teaspoon cinnamon
  • ¼ teaspoon nutmeg – I added this
  • ¼ teaspoon kosher salt (non kosher is fine) – I added this
  • 4 cup sliced, peeled baking apples (about 3-5 apples depending on the size, I used 6 since I wanted to get rid of more apples and it was fine, just more apple filled!)

Icing Glaze (consider reducing recipe by half, see notes in directions section below)

  • 2 cup powdered sugar
  • About 3 Tablespoon milk (whole milk is best)
  • ½ teaspoon almond extract
  • ½ teaspoon vanilla extract – I reduced the almond extract above and used half vanilla

Directions

For the shortbread crust

  1. Mix flour, sugar, salt, and baking powder in a medium bowl. Cut in butter with a pastry blender or two knives until you have pea-sized crumbles. Gently mix in beaten egg. (I cheated, I just put everything in a food processor! Worked for me and I don’t have a pastry cutter so I think it was the easiest for me)DSC_0184_webDSC_0186_web
  2. Spray a 9×13 baking dish (I used a 9×9) with non-stick cooking spray. Gently pat about 2/3 of the crumb mixture onto the bottom of the dish. (The crumb layer on the bottom seemed really thin to me, but it ended up being enough crust on the bottom. I may consider doubling the crust recipe next time and have a thicker bottom shortbread crust and more shortbread on top)DSC_0187_webReserve the 1/3 crumb mixture for the top. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F and set aside.

For the apple pie filling

  1. Combine flour, sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg, and salt. Toss with apples and spread apples out on prepared crust.DSC_0189_webDSC_0191_web
  2. Sprinkle reserved crust mixture over apples evenly and bake in preheated oven for 40 minutes. When finished, allow to cool completely.DSC_0194_webDSC_0211_webDSC_0210_web

For the glaze

  1. Whisk together powdered sugar, almond and vanilla extract, and enough milk to achieve desired consistency.DSC_0212_web
  2. Place glaze in a Ziploc bag and cut off a very small portion of one of the corners or use a spoon to drizzle the glaze over a completely cooled pastry. DSC_0213_webAllow glaze to harden. Cut into bars and serve. (I think there was too much glaze, but I wanted to use it all so I wouldn’t waste, but next time I would reduce the glaze recipe in half)DSC_0215_webDSC_0217_web

I really liked this recipe and will definitely make again – maybe with different fruit fillings too!

Look at all the apple layers:

DSC_0231_webDSC_0234_webAnd look how many bars this recipe makes:

DSC_0220_web

DSC_0246_webDSC_0239_webDSC_0254_web

And I’ll leave you with this, enjoy!DSC_0241_web

 

3 thoughts on “Apple Pie Bars

Leave a Reply

