Apple Dumplings

Oh fall fall fall, I have been digging for recipes to make for all the apples and decided what better than apple dumplings! They use a whole apple in every dumpling so I will definitely need a lot of apples for this. I’m picky about my pastry, so I searched for some apple dumpling recipes and subbed in my own pastry.

DSC_0310_webtitle

This is my favorite pastry crust it’s a pate sucree from Flour’s recipe book. A pate sucree is different from a pate brisee (which is a typical pastry crust) because the pate sucree has more sugar. Typically you use this type of dough when you know you’re making something sweet, otherwise, you could make a huge batch of pate brisee and use it for anything from chicken pot pie to an apple pie. Since I knew I was making sweets, I used the pate sucree, plus I wasn’t going to use the caramel sauce all the dumpling recipes came with so I wasn’t scared of this being a little bit sweeter.

The apple filling recipe and directions I adapted from Brown Eyed Baker. As I said, I subbed my favorite pastry crust and didn’t make the caramel sauce. I didn’t miss the caramel at all!

Cinnamon Apple Dumplings

Pate Sucree from Flour Bakery

Apple Filling recipe adapated from Brown Eyed Baker

Yield:  About 8 apples

Ingredients

For the Pate Sucree (doubled the recipe in the book for one 9 inch pie) 

  • 1 cup unsalted butter, room temperature, cut into 16 pieces
  • ½ cup sugar
  • 1 tsp kosher salt
  • 2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 2 egg yolks

For the Apple Filling

  • 8 medium apples peeled and cored
  • 8 teaspoons unsalted butter
  • 7 teaspoons granulated sugar
  • 2  teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • ¼ teaspoon ground nutmeg – I added this since I love nutmeg and apples
  • ¼ teaspoon kosher salt – I added this because you should always add salt! 

Directions

For the Pate Sucree

  1. Using stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, cream together the butter, sugar, and salt on medium speed for 2-3 min or until pale and light. DSC_0166_webScrape the sides and bottom of the bowl with a rubber spatula. Add the flour and beat on low speed for about 30 seconds. It will look like wet sand. Add the egg yolk and continue to mix on low speed for about 30 seconds until the dough comes together.DSC_0168_web
  2. Wrap the dough tightly in plastic wrap and refrigerate for about an 1 hour. It can be made ahead of time and stored in the refrigerator for up to 5 days or in the freezer for up to 2 weeks. (You can see my egg yolk didn’t mix too well, but it was OK)DSC_0170_web
  3. When ready to use, let soften at room temperature for 30 minutes.

Assemble the Apples

  1. Mix cinnamon, sugar, nutmeg, and salt in a small bowl. Roll each portion of dough on a lightly floured work surface into a 7-inch square. Place an apple in the center of each square.DSC_0171_web
  2. DSC_0172_webPlace 1 teaspoon of butter and 1 teaspoon of the cinnamon-sugar mixture in the center of each apple. The butter amount doesn’t have to be exact, I used roughly half a pad of butter. DSC_0177_web
  3. Preheat oven 350 degrees F.
  4. Gently bring up the corners of the pastry to the center of each apple; pinch the edges to seal. Place the pastry-encased apples in a greased 9×13-inch baking dish. Sprinkle with the remaining cinnamon-sugar mixtureDSC_0178_webDSC_0180_webDSC_0181_webDSC_0173_web
  5. Bake for 50 to 55 minutes or until the apples are tender and the pastry is golden brown. These are best served warm immediately after baking.DSC_0182_webDSC_0198_web
  6. Now I didn’t use the caramel recipe and found these to be delicious without. But if you would like it go to Brown Eyed Baker. http://www.browneyedbaker.com/2013/09/10/apple-dumplings-recipe/

Now my first batch of 8, I added too much flour because I wasn’t patient enough to wait for the dough in the refrigerator, so it crumbled more like in the photo. DSC_0201_webDSC_0203_webBut then I made it again and was patient, and the dough came out better!

DSC_0311_webSee the difference? Both were delicious either way!

DSC_0207_web

DSC_0206_webEnjoy with some ice cream!

9 thoughts on “Apple Dumplings

  1. Pingback: Caramel Crusted Apple Pie | Cupcake Artist

  2. A great recipe I can’t wait to try out. I love apples and cinnamon, and especially dumplings!

    I came up with a related recipe for Apple Dumplings in a cinnamon sauce. While different from your own, I think mine is a unique take on the dish. I’m new to the Food Blog scene and would love some feedback from a pro like you. Check out my recipe if have time.

    http://persnicketypanhandler.blogspot.com/2013/10/apple-dumpling-with-cinnamon-sauce.html

    • Thanks for visiting my site!

      Your apple dumplings look great. I love what you did with the leaves on the apples and your photos for cutting them out. The cinnamon sauce looks delicious too, can’t wait to try your recipe! You seem more like a pro at this than me – feel free to give me some advice 🙂

Leave a Reply

