My Favorite Rolled Sugar Cookie Recipe

I’ve found my new favorite rolled sugar cookie recipe! I’m pretty sure I keep saying that but this time I mean it! This recipe really doesn’t lose its shape as you can see from my cookies below, all of the edging is kept. Most importantly it also tastes delicious.

DSC_0121_webtitle

We were throwing my friend her bridal shower and I decided to make these cookies as part of the favor. We were already getting old fashioned Coke bottles because she loves Coke and since her and her fiance live in Philly (and met there) I decided to decorate with the recognizable Philly LOVE sculpture:  Wikipedia Reference Here. Plus, it’s for a bridal shower, so love has its place. The finished favors with tags are below.

IMG_0414_web

IMG_0415_web

I was very happy with how they turned out!

Now for the recipe, I got this from allrecipes.com:

Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

Adapted from allrecipes.com

Yield:  about 5 dozen

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups butter, softened
  • 2 cups white sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • ½ teaspoon vanilla extract – reduced this from the original amount for the almond extract
  • ½ teaspoon almond extract – this is not part of the original, I love adding almond extract to sugar cookies
  • 5 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt

Directions

  1. In a large bowl, cream together butter and sugar until smooth, about 2-3 minutes. Beat in eggs  one at a time until each is incorporated. Beat in vanilla and almond extract. Stir in the flour, baking powder, and salt. Cover, and chill dough for at least one hour (or overnight).
  2. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F (200 degrees C). Roll out dough on floured surface 1/4 to 1/2 inch thick. Cut into shapes with any cookie cutter. Place cookies 1 inch apart on ungreased cookie sheets lined with parchment paper.
  3. Bake 6 to 8 minutes in preheated oven. Cool completely

The cookies are baked and cooled in this photo.

DSC_0094_web

 

DSC_0098_web

Then for the decoration I outlined the cookie with a #2 Wilton tip. Here is my royal icing prior to diluting it to “flood” consistency. For the recipe go to my other sugar cookie pages:  Beach Themed Sugar Cookies. Follow the great tutorial on royal icing decorating from Sweetopia.

DSC_0095_web

DSC_0099_webLet the outline dry. Then flood the cookies. For each one I filled it as much as you see below.

DSC_0101_webThen picked up the cookie and gave it a good shake.

DSC_0102_webAnd the holes filled in. Allow these to dry completely before decorating!

DSC_0103_webThen after you are patient and the cookies dry, you can decorate. I started by piping an outline of the LOVE sculpture. I did it free hand, but you could also print it and make a stencil.

DSC_0108_webAfter about 5 cookies I started to get the hang of the LOVE. I piped them all!

DSC_0117_web

DSC_0118_webAnd let the outline dry and started filling them in.

DSC_0110_web

DSC_0115_web

DSC_0124_web

DSC_0128_web

 

I let these dry overnight so they’d be really un-messable. The cookies won’t stale because the icing seals the freshness in.

IMG_0417_webHappy Shower Barbie!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “My Favorite Rolled Sugar Cookie Recipe

  1. I can attest to how beautiful the cookies looked and how delicious they tasted. I broke one small piece out of the cookie, thinking I only wasted to taste it. Little did I realize it that I couldn’t stop and finished the whole cookie in one sitting. Thanks, Cupcake Artist!

  2. Pingback: Playlist Monday: Waterfront Winterfest @ Penn’s Landing! - Rock On Philly

Leave a Reply

