Sweet Cornbread with Whipped Maple Butter

For my father-in-law’s birthday and father’s day we celebrated by throwing an enormous bbq at my brother-in-law’s house. There was so much delicious food – ribs, potato salad, grilled kale & radicchio, fruit salad, corn on the cob, tiramisu cake (look out for it in a future post!) and of course, cornbread with whipped maple butter! I was in charge of the cake and cornbread, so I wanted to find a recipe that had only rave reviews. I came across Country Momma Cooks’ recipe, and thought how could I go wrong with a recipe called “Best Ever Cornbread“?

DSC_0239_web

Country Momma was right, this cornbread is the best ever! It was also moist, a little sweet, and perfect with the maple butter or some jam. This will be my new favorite go-to cornbread recipe.

Sweet Cornbread

From CountryMommaCooks

Yield:  one 9×9 or 8×8 pan

Notes:  REQUIRES PREP TIME OF 30 MINUTES BEFOREHAND

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/4 cup flour
  • 3/4 cup cornmeal
  • 1 Tablespoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup milk (2%)
  • 1/2 stick unsalted butter, melted
  • 2 Tablespoons vegetable oil

Directions:

  1. Soak cornmeal in the milk for 30 min at room temperature.
  2. Grease and flour one 9×9 inch pan, 8×8 inch pan for taller pieces, or 9 inch cast skillet. I doubled the recipe and used a 13×9 inch pan.
  3. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  4. Whisk together eggs, oil and butter to milk and cornmeal mixture.  Whisk together flour, baking powder, salt and sugar.  Mix the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients until combined.
  5. Pour batter into pan of choice and bake for 30 min or until golden brown. Bread should be springy to the touch.

I also thought this would go really well with a maple syrup butter mixture. We had a similar butter at Sweet Cheeks Q in Fenway, which is a really good bbq place owned by a contestant on Top Chef (love that show). It’s so easy to make!

Whipped Maple Butter

Yield:  a little more than ½ cup

Ingredients:

  • 1 stick unsalted butter, room temperature
  • ¼ cup maple syrup
  • About ¼ teaspoon salt – to taste

Directions:

  1. Using a hand mixer with the whisk attachment, beat butter and maple syrup together until blended.
  2. Add salt and continue to beat until mixture has come together and is light and fluffy. This will take longer than you think – about 5-8 minutes.

So I was a little upset when I uploaded m photos to find that half of them were invalid 😦 I don’t have the maple butter photos because of that, but I got some pretty good cornbread photos – except for the finishing shot when I nicely laid them out on a plate. Oh well, this happens and a lesson learned. NEVER buy SD cards in China and expect them to work!

The cornbread takes 30 minutes before actually mixing all the ingredients for the cornmeal to soak in the milk. Here I’m mixing them together to soak.

DSC_0217_web

Then you mix it with the rest of the ingredients.

DSC_0218_webAnd pour it into the pan of choice.

DSC_0221_webThen put it in the oven.

DSC_0224_web

Bake away and then you have delicious cornbread!

DSC_0225_web

DSC_0231_webYum, I love seeing the cracks in the bread. Cut with a sharp knife into squares. Or you could bake these in a muffin pan for cornbread muffins.

DSC_0233_web

DSC_0240_web

I had to try a piece before serving to a bunch of people.

DSC_0244_web

DSC_0245_web

We ate some extra cornbread for breakfast. I liked mine with jam, but my husband liked it with the whipped maple butter.

DSC_0248_web

If I recover the photo I’ll definitely post the butter pics!

6 thoughts on “Sweet Cornbread with Whipped Maple Butter

Leave a Reply

