Streusel Pound Cake with a Pecan Crumble (Peach & Blueberry Featured)

One morning I decided to make a breakfast cake for my hubby…but I was feeling extra lazy so it had to be with ingredients I already had on hand. I looked through the refrigerator and I had some cream cheese, butter, and milk. Then I looked through the pantry and found this delicious peach jam I bought earlier. It was the Bonne Maman type, so I knew it would be yummy. Putting the ingredients all together, I ended up smashing two recipes together – my favorite cream cheese pound cake recipe from Bakerella, a little of my own touch (the jam), and a pecan brown sugar crumble from bestfriendsforfrosting. This is what I came up with!

FotoFlexer_Photo

It was delicious, but how could it not be with a favorite recipe (I made this pound cake for my petit fours in this post), peach jam, and a pecan crumble. This recipe is sweet enough to satisfy a sweet tooth with a scoop of vanilla ice cream, and yet not too sweet that you couldn’t enjoy it for breakfast as well. The two of us finished off the whole loaf in three days.

Heard enough and want the recipe? Here it is.

Streusel Pound Cake with Pecan Crumb Topping

Adapted from Bakerella for pound cake and bestfriendsforfrosting for pecan crumble

Yield:  one 9×5” loaf pan

Ingredients:

 For Streusel Pound Cake

  • 1 ¾ cups all purpose flour, sifted
  • ½  tsp baking powder
  • ¼ tsp kosher salt
  • ½ cup butter, room temperature
  • 4 oz. cream cheese, room temperature
  • 1.5 cups sugar
  • ½  tsp vanilla
  • 3 eggs, room temperature
  • 1/2 cup milk, room temperature
  • 1 cup peach or blueberry jam (or any flavor)

For Pecan Crumble

  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup chopped pecans
  • 1/4 cup butter, cubed
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon

Directions:

  1. Grease and flour one 9×5 loaf pan. Preheat oven to 325 degrees.
  2. Sift flour and baking powder in a medium sized bowl.
  3. In a separate bowl using a handheld mixer or in the bowl of a stand mixer, cream together butter, cream cheese, and sugar for about 6 minutes.
  4. Add eggs one at a time, mixing well after each addition. Add vanilla and milk until combined.
  5. Add flour mixture until completely combined.
  6. Pour half of the batter into the prepared pan. Dollop about 2/3 cup jam on the batter layer. Take a butter knife and swirl the jam to spread it more evenly on the batter. Pour the second half of the batter on top of the jam. Dollop remaining 1/3 cup jam on top and swirl with the knife.
  7. For the pecan crumble, mix flour, brown sugar, and cinnamon. Using a fork press flour mixture into butter until crumble forms. Add chopped pecans into the mixture until combined.
  8. Sprinkle pecan crumble on top and press lightly with hands.
  9. Bake for about 60 minutes until the top springs back nicely.

Now the photos…

The ingredients that were my inspiration.

DSC_0135_web

Did I mention the bag of pecans from Costco that I had? Yea, that helped me pick the type of crumble. Gotta use it up! DSC_0136_web

See below with the flour and butter.
DSC_0137_web

Then it becomes a combined crumble.

DSC_0138_webNow layer the pound cake. Half of the pound cake batter first.

DSC_0139_webSpread it around the pan.

DSC_0141_webThen dollop the jam on top of the batter.

DSC_0142_web

I believe I used about a cup of jam.

DSC_0143_web

Using a teaspoon or knife spread it around a little bit. Then pour the rest of the batter on top of the jam layer.

DSC_0145_webSprinkle the pecan crumble on top.

DSC_0149_webAnd press it down lightly with your hands into the batter a little bit.

DSC_0150_web

DSC_0151_web

Then bake and you have a delicious cake!

DSC_0152_web

If you spread the jam all the way to the sides of the pan, then it will ooze out like below. Yummmmmmm.

DSC_0159_web

And cool completely before cutting. It’ll be hard, but the flavors meld together so much better that way.

DSC_0166_web

I’m not going to lie, I did not wait. It was still good.

DSC_0168_web

DSC_0178_web

I don’t like the end piece but my husband loves it. I give it to him and then take a slice in the middle.

The next week I made my blueberry version using a wild blueberry jam. It’s important to use a good quality jam since that’ll add a lot of the flavor to the pound cake.

DSC_0187_web

That’s the blueberry streusel on top. I put a lot more jam in the middle layer. I think the blueberry looks more striking.

DSC_0190_web

Out of the two, I liked the blueberry better.

DSC_0191_web

Open up!

Here are some other variations of the recipe I want to try:

  • Cherry Almond:  replace vanilla extract with almond extract, replace pecan in crumble with chopped almonds, use cherry jam
  • Coconut Raspberry:  replace pecan in crumble with shredded coconut, use raspberry jam
  • Double Pecan Streusel:  replace jam filling with the same pecan crumble recipe
  • Chocolate chip:  add 1 cup chocolate chips
  • Apricot Almond:  replace vanilla extract with almond extract, use apricot jam
  • In general – make fresh jam or fruit filling by using fresh fruit and reducing it with a cup of sugar

There are tons more I’m sure. Have fun coming up with different variations!

6 thoughts on “Streusel Pound Cake with a Pecan Crumble (Peach & Blueberry Featured)

  1. This sounds so delicious! Not sure that I could stomach it for breakfast (I am more of a savoury breakfast type of person) but I’d definitely eat a huge wedge for afternoon tea or dessert (the latter with ice cream, yummm). I also don’t like the end piece. Haha… you’re lucky that your husband eats it for you (around here it usually just gets left until there’s no more cake left… then possibly it’ll get eaten out of desperation!). Thanks for this lovely recipe 🙂

Leave a Reply

