Whoppers Cupcakes

For my friend’s big birthday I made these Whoppers Cupcakes because she loves Whoppers. Now, I have found that Whoppers is a very polarizing candy – you either love it or you hate it. I have found with these cupcakes, even if you hate them, you may still like the cupcake version.

DSC_0052_web_whopperI used my favorite chocolate cake recipe from Hersheys. It’s so easy to make and delicious, light, and fluffy. I have the recipe on this post for my Milky Way Cake. Then I used from thecurveycarrot the recipe for the malted milk chocolate buttercream. I wanted a recipe that didn’t use shortening – since a bunch I found online have shortening in it. I absolutely hate shortening except when you are making a certain type of cookie that needs to be preserved in a special way. Otherwise, butter is the way to go.

Enough blabbing, here’s the recipe.

Whoppers Cupcakes with Malted Milk Chocolate Buttercream

From theCurveyCarrot.com and Hersheys.com

Yield:  24 cupcakes and frosting

Ingredients

For   the Cake

  • Hershey’s Perfectly Chocolate Cake in this post

For   the Frosting

  • 2 sticks (16 tablespoons) unsalted   butter, at room temperature
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 4 cups powdered sugar
  • 1 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 cup malted milk powder
  • 10 tablespoons milk
  • For garnish:  Whopper candies

 

Directions for the Frosting

  1. In the bowl of your stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment (or using an electric hand mixer), beat the butter, vanilla, and salt at medium-high speed until light and fluffy, about 2 minutes.
  2. In a separate bowl, whisk together the powdered sugar, cocoa powder, and malted milk powder.
  3. In three separate turns and on low speed, alternate adding the powdered sugar mixture with the milk to the butter mixture, mixing until smooth and creamy.  Pipe as desired onto the cupcakes. Garnish with a whopper if desired.

Turns out, from the Hershey’s chocolate cake recipe, you can actually make about 30 some cupcakes. I didn’t really listen and I overflowed my pan 😦 Boo me. These don’t look that pretty because of that, so I recommend do not overflow your pan. Fill the cupcake liners about 2/3 full or LESS. Then you get “more less stuff” (AT&T commercial anyone?).

DSC_0024_webIt’s OK though if you mess up like me, you will have the buttercream to cover it up. Then on with the buttercream while the cupcakes cool completely. Mix your dry…I use Ovaltine for my malt powder.

DSC_0032_webThen blend it with the wet ingredients. It gets nice and fluffy. Yum.

DSC_0034_webThen pipe as desired. I use a cup and put the piping bag around it like how you would a trash bag over the trash can, and fill it with the frosting. It makes it easier when you have both hands to scoop the frosting in.

DSC_0035_webThen pipe!

DSC_0041_webAnd top with the Whopper!

DSC_0045_web

DSC_0047_webAnd decorate with a straw. I got these from Sur La Table – they are red and white striped paper straws that are food grade safe.

DSC_0053_webFor the birthday girl’s cupcake, I covered it in Whoppers. It was the Queen Whopper Cupcake.

DSC_0061_webThis post is a bit later than her actual birthday, but Happy Birthday Jess!

4 thoughts on “Whoppers Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

