Classic Chocolate Whoopie Pies

For my friend’s housewarming party I wanted to make a classic dessert that screamed congrats and party! What better than a whoopie pie? It literally has whoopie in the name. I was thinking of various kinds of whoopie pies to make, pumpkin with cream cheese frosting, chocolate chip with vanilla creme, etc. but I realized I had never made a classic chocolate whoopie pie with marshmallow cream filling. Until NOW!

DSC_0813_part1

I found this recipe from Treats-SF.com. I searched far and wide until  I found a photo of a whoopie pie that looked like the kind I ate as a kid from the Farmer’s Market. Yep, I picked the recipe based solely on looks, how vain of me. Well, turns out it’s more than just looks, these taste great too! The marshmallow filling is the BEST, and I plan on making it for cakes, cupcakes, and other desserts because it’s that good. Even if you don’t make the cake parts, make the filling. I was looking for things around the house to dunk in the leftover filling it’s that good. OK, I think I’ve made my point. Here’s the recipe from Treats-SF.com.

Chocolate Whoopie Pies

From Treats-sf.com

Yield:  About a dozen whoopie pies

Ingredients

Cake

  • 2 c. all-purpose flour
  • ½ c. Dutch-processed cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • ½ tsp salt
  • 1 c. packed light brown sugar
  • ½ c. (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened but still cool
  • 1 large egg, room temperature
  • 1 ½ tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 c. buttermilk (lowfat works)

Marshmallow Filling

  • 12 Tbsp (1½ sticks) unsalted butter, softened but still cool
  • 1¼ c. confectioners’ sugar
  • 1½ tsp vanilla extract
  • ½ tsp kosher salt
  • 7 oz jar of marshmallow fluff

Directions

For the Cake

  1. Adjust oven racks to upper-middle and lower-middle positions and heat oven to 350 degrees. Line 3 baking sheets with parchment paper.
  2. Whisk flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, and salt in medium bowl. Set aside. With electric mixer on medium speed, beat sugar and butter in large bowl until fluffy, about 4 minutes. Beat in egg until incorporated, scraping down sides of bowl as necessary, then beat in vanilla.
  3. Reduce speed to low and beat in one-third of flour mixture, then half of buttermilk. Repeat with half of remaining flour mixture, then remaining buttermilk, and finally remaining flour mixture. Using rubber spatula, give batter final stir.
  4. Using a #20 ice cream scoop (or ¼-cup measure) scoop 8 mounds of batter onto each baking sheet, spacing mounds about 3 inches apart.
  5. Bake until cakes spring back when pressed, 11 to 13 minutes, switching and rotating pans halfway through baking. Cool completely on baking sheets, at least 1 hour.

For the filling

  1. With electric mixer on medium speed, beat butter and sugar together until fluffy, about 2 minutes. Beat in vanilla and salt. Beat in marshmallow creme until incorporated, about 2 minutes.
  2. Refrigerate filling until slightly firm, about 30 minutes. (Bowl can be wrapped and refrigerated for up to 2 days.)

Assembly

  1. Dollop ⅓ cup filling on center of flat side of half the cakes. You can fill a plastic bag with the filling to make it easier and pipe it on.
  2. Top with flat side of remaining cakes and gently press until filling spreads to edge of cake. Serve. (Whoopie pies can be refrigerated in air-tight container for up to 3 days.)

Now for the photos. Here’s the brown sugar and butter mixture creamed together.

DSC_0777_web

 

Keep going until it’s nice and fluffy. Then alternate the dry and wet mixtures. There goes the buttermilk…

DSC_0778_web

 

Mix until combined.

DSC_0779_web

 

Then I dolloped each with an ice cream scooper. I used the scooper so I would get a consistent size for each cake half, but had to use my finger to get it out of the scoop.

DSC_0786_web

 

Then bake the cakes! Here is one tray out of the oven and into my new photoshooting box.

DSC_0789_web

 

I’ll be playing with the lighting a little bit more. While everything was cooling, I made the marshmallow filling. There goes the delicious Fluff into the butter mixture.

DSC_0800_web

 

The Fluff will definitely stick, so try to get it right in the butter mixture. I used a piping bag and filled it with the marshmallow filling for easier application. Just swirl it around until covered.

DSC_0806_web

 

Then top with matching half. Before icing I matched halves together that were about the same size. I did have a couple that came out smaller, so I needed to match those two.

DSC_0807_web

 

Then take a big bite!

DSC_0823_web

 

Just to emphasize the classic-ness of this all American treat, I’ve given the last photo a “1960’s” look. Disclaimer, my mom never actually made these, but she took me to the Farmer’s Market to get them!

DSC_0809_web

9 thoughts on “Classic Chocolate Whoopie Pies

    • Haha, I spelled whoopie like that the first time too! I haven’t made the red velvet whoopie pies yet, but I did make pumpkin whoopie pie with cream cheese filling. I got the recipe from joyofbaking.com. It was delicious too!

Leave a Reply

