Chocolate Mousse – Made with Tofu?

If you haven’t noticed, some of my recipes have been leaning towards healthier alternatives that still satisfy my carb-loving sweet tooth. This is because I eat dessert on a DAILY basis. If I did it once in a while, I’d be making a lot more of the unaltered recipes with tons of butter, sugar, and no whole grains. This is not the case for me, so I’m trying to curb my dessert eating by at least making healthier alternatives. I say “healthier” because sugar is hard to substitute out, but fats and refined grains are easier, so I can’t in good conscience call these healthy. And with this blurb, I would like to introduce…the Chocolate Mousse made from tofu!

DSC_0487_web-001

The other reason why I love this recipe is because it’s lactose free and I am lactose intolerant. I adapted this recipe from Chocolate Covered Katie’s Ultimate Chocolate Fudge Pie. I altered her recipe for the pie filling part. I usually eat this as just a chocolate mousse, but on this particular day, I made it into a “parfait” for texture, crunch, and of course to satisfy a peanut butter craving!

Chocolate Tofu Mousse

Adapted from Chocolate Covered Katie

Yield:  About 3 cups of Chocolate Mousse

Ingredients

Chocolate Mousse

  • 12.3 oz silken tofu
  • 2 tsp cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1/8 tsp kosher salt
  • 8 oz semi-sweet chocolate chips

Parfait crunch (Optional)

  • 1 cup rice krispie
  • 1 heaping Tbsp peanut butter
  • 1 Tbsp powdered sugar optional
  • Mini marshmallows for garnish (optional)

Directions

  1. Heat semi-sweet chocolate chips in the microwave until smooth and melted, about 2-3 minutes. Be careful not to overdo it, heat about a minute, then stir, and put it back in. Burnt chocolate sucks.
  2. Place tofu, cocoa powder, vanilla, and salt in food processor. Blend until combined. Add melted chocolate and blend more until all combined.
  3. Place mixture in airtight container and place it in the refrigerator for at least an hour. Chocolate mousse will thicken as it sits.
  4. If you choose to do the parfait, mix rice krispies, peanut butter (if you want stronger PB taste, add more!), and powdered sugar (I omit this). Mix together with a fork or with your hands if you’re the only one eating it. It will kind of be like puppy chow (chex mix w/ PB and powdered sugar).
  5. Layer a cup with some chocolate mousse, a little parfait crunch, some marshmallows, and repeat until desired layers are reached!

A couple things I changed from Katie’s recipe:  I added another teaspoon of cocoa powder to enhance the chocolatey flavor since I was only using 8 oz of chocolate chips. Cocoa powder contains most of the chocolate flavor versus chocolate chips or baking bars that contain cocoa butter that doesn’t add as much flavor. Cocoa powder is all of the cocoa solids that are extracted from the cacao beans, and that contains all of the chocolate flavor. Then I omitted the tablespoons of milk. I didn’t miss it and I wanted to keep it lactose-free! Feel free to add it if you want though. I was also fine without the extra agave syrup. I like my chocolate desserts tasting bittersweet and I found this one sweet enough.

Here is my food processor with the tofu after I added the melted chocolate.

DSC_0473_web

And then after it was completely blended.

DSC_0475_web

This is before I refrigerated it. Afterwards, it’s more mousse-like. Then I decided I wanted peanut butter with the chocolate and some crispiness. So I mixed up this rice krispie/PB mixture. I omitted the powdered sugar, but I could see how people may like it.

DSC_0476_web

And then marshmallows always go well with this combination!

DSC_0488

Warning:  this tofu chocolate mousse stuff is addicting. I am confident if you don’t tell people it’s made of tofu, they won’t even realize it. You get tons of protein too and less fat!

Hope you enjoy the recipe as much as I do! I’m curious to try it with a firm tofu or regular tofu to see how the texture changes. Let me know if you try it out, I’d love to hear your results.

6 thoughts on “Chocolate Mousse – Made with Tofu?

  1. The mousse looks so creamy and delicious. I have heard of using silken tofu but never tried it. I made chocolate mousse with avocado and it was really good I bet this is wonderful and I love the crispy crunchy you added. Looks great and guilt free.

    • Oh I’ve heard of the avocado too, that sounds delicious. Do you have that recipe on your site? I would definitely like to try it. Yes, it’s guilt-free until I eat almost all of it! 😉

  2. Yuuuum! I can’t believe something that looks so delicious can actually be made in a ‘healthier’ version! I do admit that the idea of chocolate and avocado, chocolate and tofu is rather… off-putting, for me, a chocaholic! I will give your recipe a go though. Your reports and photos had me drooling at first glance 🙂

    • I agree! At first I thought tofu was weird, but then I thought about it and it’s so flavorless that it just assumes the chocolate flavor so easily. I’m interested to try the avocado too, I’ll post when I get to that recipe. I’d be interested to see what you think of the tofu!

Leave a Reply

