Best Chocolate Chip Cookies – Can I say best?

Mmmmmm, chocolate chip cookies! These are one type of cookie that everyone has their favorite version of…take a moment and think about your favorite version. Are you a crispy edge and soft in the middle type? Or maybe a completely soft and slightly doughy middle kind? Perhaps you like to eat them cold out of the freezer, or you like to zap them in the microwave just until the chocolate chips start melting.

DSC_0097_web

Well, if your response is that you enjoy a chocolate chip cookie that is soft and chewy, and has an amazing brown sugar, vanilla, chocolate chip flavor – this is the recipe for you! I like my cookies soft and I always love a classic. I was very happy to find this recipe from Allrecipes.com. So here it is folks!

Best Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

From All Recipes

Yield:  about 2 dozen 1.5 inch cookies

Ingredients

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3/4 cup unsalted butter, melted
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1 Tbsp vanilla extract
  • 1 egg
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips
Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 325 degrees F. Grease cookie sheets or line with parchment paper.
  2. In a large bowl, sift together the flour, baking soda and salt.
  3. In a separate medium bowl with a handheld mixer or in the bowl of a stand mixer, cream together the melted butter, brown sugar and white sugar until well blended.
  4. Beat in the vanilla, egg, and egg yolk until light and creamy. Mix in the sifted ingredients until just blended.
  5. Stir in the chocolate chips by hand using a wooden spoon. Drop cookie dough 1/4 cup at a time (for giant cookies) or a tablespoon at a time (for smaller cookies) onto the prepared cookie sheets. Large cookies should be about 3 inches apart, smaller cookies should be about an inch apart.
  6. Bake larger cookies for 15 to 17 minutes, or 10 to 12 minutes for smaller ones (check your cookies before they’re done; depending on your scoop size, your baking time will vary) in the preheated oven, or until the edges are lightly toasted. Cool on baking sheets for a few minutes before transferring to wire racks to cool completely.

These were about the dough size I used, I tried doing the tablespoon version.

DSC_0089_web

I love my new Silpat. Helps with the cleanup and you don’t have to waste parchment paper. Bakes the cookies nice and evenly too.

Don’t worry – I did make one version the 1/4 cup kind – or maybe it was a 1/2 cup kind. Anyway, here’s the comparison of my regular cookie and my mammoth cookie.

DSC_0102_web1

The mammoth one was delicious and oh so soft. I ate the whole thing in one sitting. I’m really doing terribly on healthifying my diet, but I’m doing great on my cookie diet.

Enjoy – you only live once!

DSC_0096_web1

4 thoughts on “Best Chocolate Chip Cookies – Can I say best?

  1. Pingback: S’mores Cookies | Cupcake Artist

Leave a Reply

