Whole Wheat Apple Spice Cake

This is another recipe that I came across in my search to use up all the apples we obtained from apple picking. This is a very easy to make and delicious apple spice cake. I adapted the recipe from Flour Bakery in Boston, MA. I love all of her recipes, as I’ve said before. She calls it her Apple Snacking Spice Cake, and after I made it, I could see why. I just kept slicing off pieces of cake, then slicing another piece, and snacking away like crazy. This stuff is addicting!

I put extra apples in my cake since I was trying to use up the apples. It still came out with a great ratio and I can’t complain about nice chunks of apple. Here’s the recipe:

Whole Wheat Apple Spice Cake

Adapted from Flour Bakery

Yield:  one bundt pan or 10 inch round cake pan

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • ¾ cup cake flour
  • 1 ½ tsp baking soda
  • ½ tsp kosher salt
  • ¼ tsp ground cinnamon
  • ¼ tsp ground ginger
  • 1/8 tsp ground cloves
  • 1 ½ cup granulated sugar
  • ½ cup butter (1 stick), room temperature
  • ½ cup applesauce unsweetened
  • 2 eggs
  • 4 cups chopped apples (I used McIntosh)
  • ½ cup raisins
  • 1 cup pecan halves, toasted and roughly chopped

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Butter and flour 10 inch round cake pan or bundt pan.
  2. Spray a baking pan with oil and toast the pecans on 400 degrees F for about 5-8 minutes, move the nuts around at some point during baking.
  3. In the bowl of a stand mixer, sift together flour, cake flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, ginger, and cloves. Fix the mixer with the paddle attachment. Add the granulated sugar and butter to the flour mixture and beat on medium speed until butter is fully incorporated into the dry ingredients (about 1 min).
  4. Add the eggs and mix on low speed for 10-15 seconds until fully incorporated. Turn the mixer to medium-high speed and beat for about 1 minute until the batter is light and fluffy. Your batter will look like this. 
  5. Using the rubber spatula, fold the apples, raisins, and pecans in the batter. It will look like too many apples and not enough batter, but keep folding. Scrape all of the mixture into the pan and spread evenly. Mmm, look at my apples and all the filling!
  6. Bake about 1 hour to 1 hour and twenty minutes until the cake feels firm when you press the middle. The bundt pan should take less time since there is more surface area.
  7. Let the cake cool completely in the pan on a wire rack. Invert the cake and dust with confectioners’ sugar if wanted.
  8. This cake can be stored in an airtight container at room temperature up to 3 days or in the freezer for 2 weeks.

Click to Print Whole Wheat Apple Spice Cake

And it’s delicious with a little powdered sugar…

The best part about a spiced cake is that you can’t really taste that it’s whole wheat or not. I think the cake flour also lightens it up a bit. I love the taste of whole wheat, but I know people who don’t (my hubby) – and even they like this! Also, replacing part of the butter with applesauce makes it just a little less guilty.

Happy snacking!

2 thoughts on “Whole Wheat Apple Spice Cake

  1. This looks so good! I love all the ingredients; especially the addition of ground cloves. I don’t have much luck with bundt cakes, yours is fabulous!

Leave a Reply

