Coconut Lime Cupcakes

For my friend’s birthday I decided to make coconut lime cupcakes. She requested coconut chocolate or some coconut combination, so I had to put a surprise in there. I found this recipe from Two Peas and Their Pod. It looked great, and tasted great!

I altered their recipe slightly. I love lime zest, lemon zest, any zest, so I try to add that if I can. Their recipe for some reason left me with a lot of batter, A LOT. I’m not complaining, but I could fill a whole half of a large donut pan. Look how much I could make with this one recipe – 24 cupcakes and one half large donut!

Here’s the recipe:

Coconut Lime Cupcakes

Yield:  24 cupcakes or much more

Ingredients:

Coconut Cupcake:

  • § 2 cups granulated sugar
  • § Zest of 1 lime
  • § 1 ½ cup (3 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • § 5 large eggs at room temperature
  • § 1 ½ tsp pure vanilla extract
  • § 1 tsp coconut extract
  • § 1 Tbsp fresh lime juice
  • § 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • § 1 tsp baking powder
  • § ½ tsp baking soda
  • § ½ tsp kosher salt
  • § 1 cup buttermilk
  • § ¾ cup shredded coconut

Lime Buttercream Frosting:

  • § 1 cup butter, at room temperature
  • § 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • § 1 tsp coconut extract
  • § 6 cups powdered sugar
  • § 4 Tbsp buttermilk
  • § 2-3 Tbsp grated lime zest
  • § unsweetened shredded coconut for sprinkling

 

Directions:

1. Preheat the oven to 325 degrees F. Line a muffin pan with paper liners. Set aside.

2. In a small bowl, combine sugar and lime zest. In the bowl of an stand mixer, cream the butter and sugar mixture together on high speed until light and fluffy, about 5 minutes. With the mixer on low speed, add the eggs, 1 at a time, scraping down the bowl after each addition. Add the vanilla, coconut extract, lime juice, and mix well.

3. In a separate bowl, sift together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. In 3 parts, alternately add the dry ingredients and the buttermilk to the batter, beginning and ending with the dry. Mix until just combined. Stir in coconut. It’ll look a little chunky at first, but then it will blend smoothly.

4. Fill each liner near the top with batter. Bake for 25 to 35 minutes, until the tops are brown and a toothpick comes out clean. Allow to cool in the pan for 15 minutes. Remove to wire cooling rack and cool completely.

5. While the cupcakes are cooling, make the frosting. In the bowl of a stand mixer, beat butter, vanilla, and coconut extract until creamy. Add powdered sugar 1 cup at a time, alternating with buttermilk, beating until combined. Beat in lime zest.

6. Frost the cupcakes and sprinkle with coconut.

CLICK TO PRINT COCONUT LIME CUPCAKE RECIPE!

How did I decorate it?

I figured you’d ask…I just gently pressed down on the cupcake using the wide circular tip. Then I swirled around while using a little bit of pressure so I would get a smushed twist look.

Here’s a close-up.

Then I pressed half of the cupcake into a plate of the unsweetened shredded coconut. It helps to use your hand to smush some coconut onto the one half.

and there you have it! This one may have gone directly to my mouth…

Then I decided to ice the half donut “cake” that I ended up with using all the extra batter since I had extra icing too. I used the same tip and just applied pressure on the cake and lifted up. I continued the pattern all around. It was really easy and actually looked pretty cool.

There is only half of this shown because I had already eaten half of just the cake part before I iced it. I was truly disgusted by myself, trust me, but I was also oddly proud I could eat that much. I did sugar crash later and felt a bit sick from all the sweets, but I think in the end it was worth it.

There you have it, delicious light coconut lime cupcakes! A great end of summer dessert or anytime dessert.

Happy eating!

One thought on “Coconut Lime Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

