Easiest Blueberry Drop “Pie”

I wanted to make a dessert using fresh blueberries that I bought from Costco since I had so many! Usually my fiance refrains me from shopping at Costco since there are only two of us, but the deals are so great, and I usually eat so much fruit, it’s worth it. I love their free samples too, and can never leave without getting one of their frozen yogurt twists – yum.

Since it was already 10pm at night and my parents were in Boston for the weekend, I decided to go with an easy recipe that I didn’t have to buy anymore ingredients for…luckily I had on hand self-rising flour. Usually, I don’t have this ingredient. If you happen to not have self-rising flour, here is a substitute:  self-rising flour.

So what did I do for the recipe? I adapted and adjusted this recipe I found from The Pioneer Woman.

Ingredients

  • 1 stick butter (1/2 cup)
  • 1 cup granulated sugar (1/4 cup for sprinkling)
  • 1 cup self-rising flour
  • 1 cup milk (I used 2%)
  • 2 cups blueberries
  • 1/4 tsp kosher salt
  • zest of 1/2 lemon (or a whole lemon)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Heavily butter a 9 inch pie dish (or a 9×9 square pan, or even bigger if you want it to be less tall).
  2. Microwave the butter until melted. Be careful! One time I did this and the butter exploded in the microwave. It was a mess, but made my microwave surprisingly glossy and clean looking.
  3. Mix the sugar, flour, milk, salt, and lemon zest until blended with a whisk.
  4. Pour the melted butter into the mixture and mix until blended with a whisk.
  5. Pour most of the batter into the pan. I had leftover for two large muffin tins. I did this because sometimes I like to try out what I bake, and you can’t take a taste of it when you put it into a pie pan. People will definitely notice when you take a bite! I think if you put all the batter in the 9 inch pan it would’ve leaked over while baking though. The original recipe I adapted from did not give the size of the baking dish, so I guessed. I would use a 10 inch round pie dish if you didn’t want to split the batter. 
  6. Sprinkle the blueberries over the batter. Then sprinkle the 1/4 cup of sugar on top. I didn’t use all 1/4 cup of sugar, I just used enough to cover the “pie”. 

  7. Bake for about 45 min to 1 hour. The top should look a little golden brown at the edges. 

CLICK TO PRINT RECIPE

This was so good! This is the easiest blueberry cake recipe that I’ve ever made, but yet it turned out to taste really good. Not to toot my own horn, but it was all in the recipe. You really can’t make this wrong. I would try it with different fruits next time, maybe some raspberries, peaches, or even the original blackberries. I do think that the lemon zest adds a lot to the cake, it gives the fruit a fresher taste.

And, as Joanne Cheng from Flour Bakery has noted in her book in her baking tips section, salt makes sweet stuff sweeter! Imagine that, but it’s true. It really brings out the flavor in baked goods. I now always add salt to any recipe I make.

And in the words of Marie Antoinette, although debated, let them eat cake!

We served this with a scoop of vanilla bean ice cream. I didn’t take a picture of that, but you can imagine how delicious it might look. Now I’m full…

Leave a Reply

