Chocolate Cake Layered Cheesecake with Espresso Buttercream

My lucky lucky fiance. For his birthday last year I made him not one, but TWO cakes. One for friends and one for when his family came over. The one for friends is in my other post, and this post has the one for his family. This cake was a mixture of recipes. I used a chocolate cake recipe and a cheesecake recipe. 

Here is the chocolate cake recipe I adapted from Flour Bakery in Boston:

Here is the cheesecake recipe I adapted from Joy of Baking:

And finally here is the espresso buttercream recipe:

Putting it All Together

  1. Bake chocolate cake and allow to cool completely. 
  2. Bake cheesecake layer and allow to cool completely. Refrigerate after it has cooled to let it firm.
  3. Make buttercream as cakes are cooling. I used the ground espresso in the buttercream so mine is speckled. I actually liked it that way, and I didn’t feel like buying espresso powder.
  4. Place one layer of chocolate cake on serving plate of choice. Spread a thin or thick layer of espresso buttercream. Quickly lift layer of cheesecake off of bottom of springform pan and place on buttercream layer. Usually I place a layer of parchment paper on the bottom of the springform pan, it’s really easy to lift the cheesecake off that way.
  5. Spread another thin or thick layer of buttercream on cheesecake. Place last layer of chocolate cake on top.
  6. If you want your cake even, cut the roundness off the chocolate cake layers before stacking all of the layers.
  7. Crumb coat the cake with the buttercream to make for easier covering and decorating. 
  8. Then coat the whole cake with the buttercream. I did a more rustic spreading of buttercream, I didn’t worry about making it completely smooth. I kind of liked seeing the strokes. 
  9. Decorate as desired! I did a bead border.  Wilton has a great tutorial.
 

I cheated and made the same cake for my mom’s birthday…

We celebrated her birthday during thanksgiving, so I put a little chocolate turkey on top.

If you want to make some of the chocolate decorations, all I did was pipe melted chocolate onto wax paper on a baking pan.

I took the piping bag and just did criss cross motions, made some swirls and hearts. Then I refrigerated the decorations until they hardened. After they hardened, I took a round cookie cutter to cut the criss cross chocolate design to make it circular.

Be careful when placing the chocolate decorations on the cake because they will quickly melt from your body heat!

And of course as usual, eat it!


2 thoughts on “Chocolate Cake Layered Cheesecake with Espresso Buttercream

Leave a Reply

