Tiramisu

One of my favorite desserts is tiramisu. There is something delicious about the custard filling mixed with chocolate flavor and coffee. There’s something extra special about being lactose-intolerant and knowing I will be in pain after eating it too.

I found this tiramisu from Allrecipes.com. I love that site. I adjusted one ingredient and did coffee instead of coffee liqueur. I also added more unsweetened cocoa between the layers, not just on top. I can say that this tiramisu had very good reviews from my fiance’s family. I brought it for Xmas and his aunt actually said “I don’t like tiramisu, but I like this!”. She’s funny.

Here’s the recipe:ย 

Quick Tips

  1. Don’t stop stirring when you are cooking the egg yolks and sugar! If you slow down a little, you will notice it starts to smell like scrambled eggs. Don’t let your dessert smell like scrambled eggs…
  2. I used a 9″ springform pan. I placed the ladyfingers around the edges which will help keep the whole thing together once you remove the pan edge. Trust me, I was very scared when I opened the springform pan side.
  3. You can make your own ladyfingers if you want too! Here’s a recipe: Ladyfingers. It looks not that hard to make. Though I haven’t tried it. I almost did because ladyfingers at my supermarket are EXPENSIVE.
  4. My chocolate curls didn’t turn out as well as in the allrecipes photo. Maybe they used a thicker piece of chocolate than me. I used a regular chocolate bar. I guess my tip is don’t use a regular chocolate bar?

Dig in!

4 thoughts on “Tiramisu

    • Yes, thank you for the tip, I do have those pills! The problem is I usually forget them and can’t refrain from eating the yummy dessert anyway ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

