Irish Carbomb Cupcakes

I’m catching up on recipes I’ve made throughout the year, since I haven’t had a blog until now, so this one is obviously out of date. I decided to make some St. Patrick’s themed cupcakes this year. After a lot of searching, I decided to go with the recipe I found from Brown Eyed Baker. The recipe combined my two favorite drinks – whiskey and beer.  A chocolate guinness cupcake, filled with a whiskey ganache, and bailey’s irish buttercream frosting…what could be better?

I decorated the cupcakes with some green circles.

How to Make Green Chocolate Circles (or any color for that matter):

1.  Melt semi-sweet chocolate chips in the microwave. I think I used about a cup.

2.  Mix the chocolate until it is smooth. Spread chocolate evenly on a piece of wax paper. Sprinkle color sprinkles of your choice on the still melted chocolate.

3.  Refrigerate until hardened. Take a circle cookie cutter or biscuit cutter and slowly press down into chocolate.

4.  Decorate as you like.

Here’s one that I attempted to make look like a three leaf clover. Unsuccessful! So I destroyed it! And by destroy I mean ate.

 

 

 

Yum, look at all that filling. I then proceeded to eat another cupcake just like below, with a tall drink of guinness. Don’t worry, guinness is one of the lowest calorie beer, so it pretty much deletes the effect of the cupcake.

 

 

One thought on “Irish Carbomb Cupcakes

  1. Pingback: St. Patrick’s Day Treats! | Cupcake Artist

Leave a Reply

