Happy New Year – White Chocolate Chip Cherry Cookies!

I decided to start the new year by posting about these delicious white chocolate chip cherry cookies! What are they exactly? Well, they are vanilla flavored cookies sprinkled with white chocolate chips and dried cherries. Yum…these cookies are one of my new favorite cookie recipes, I adapted this from Baking Bites. So throw away those new year’s resolutions about losing weight, eating right, and swearing away sweets because this one is worth it.

Did I convince you yet? I already ate two of them.

picture011

White Chocolate Chip Cherry Cookies

Adapted from Baking Bites

Yield:  two dozen 2 inch cookies

Ingredients:

  • 1 ½ cup all purpose flour
  • ¾ tsp baking soda
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • ½ cup butter, room temperature
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2/3 white chocolate chips (I used Ghiradelli)
  • 2/3 cup dried cherries (coarsely chopped or whole)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.
  2. In medium bowl, whisk flour, baking soda, and salt.
  3. In bowl of electric stand mixer or in a large bowl with a hand mixer, cream together the butter and sugar until fluffy. About 4-6 minutes. Beat in the egg and vanilla extract, making sure to wipe down the bowl periodically. Mix in the flour mixture.
  4. Mix in the white chocolate chips and dried cherries into the batter with a large wooden spoon.
  5. Drop tablespoonfuls of dough (about 1 inch) or ¼ cup balls for big cookies onto prepared baking sheet. For 1 inch cookies these won’t spread too much, so place about 2 inches apart. For the ¼ cup balls place at least 3 inches apart.
  6. Bake for 10-12 minutes until cookies turn light golden color around the edges. Cool for about 5 minutes on baking sheet until cookies are completely set. Transfer to a wire rack for cooling completely.
  7. Store in airtight container.

Did I mention that I was at my parent’s house when I made these the first time? Yea, that was difficult. They didn’t have a hand mixer or  stand mixer, so I used a food processor. But not just any old food processor, the oldest kind still existing in the 20th century – this thing is at least 20 something years old because I remember it was the same one my mom used when I was 4.

2012-12-22_20-54-22_374

This actually fared pretty well. Here is a photo of the butter and sugar. This step is really important for whipping air pockets into the butter so it’s nice and fluffy.

2012-12-22_20-54-43_178

And then I added in the chips and cherries and mixed with a spatula. I used dried cherries from Costco.

2012-12-22_20-46-42_655_web

2012-12-22_21-06-53_893_web

2012-12-22_21-10-53_403_web

I made my cookies into 1 inch balls, not the 1/4 cup ones. Although I did that for a couple later.

2012-12-22_21-19-28_4_web

My parents also didn’t have parchment paper, so I heavily greased the pan. It worked though! Although the bottoms were a little more browned than another batch I made at home with parchment paper. Plus, easier cleanup with parchment.

2012-12-22_21-31-21_968_web

And there you have it. Delicious cookies that can be made in a food processor that is at least 20+ years old or in a stand mixer. Both turn out great.

picture021_web

picture018

Seriously though, one cookie really isn’t going to break your New Year’s diet right? I guess the problem is you can’t eat just one of these.

4 thoughts on “Happy New Year – White Chocolate Chip Cherry Cookies!

Leave a Reply

